Databases

EBSCO Databases

Multi-platform searching over 30 different databases. This resource offers access to magazine and professional journal articles on all topics, ERIC full text, pamphlets, health database and some online reference books (such as a medical dictionary, a drug index, & the CIA Fact Book) are also included.

A dedicated search interface for all your EBSCO school library databases.

SRC provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools to easily obtain the information that they need from their EBSCO databases.

The single-most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, this resource is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.

GALE Databases

The premier resource for peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources. Includes Academic OneFile, Literature Resource Center, and many others.

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

Scribner Writers Series provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods.

Student Resources In Context merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Twayne's is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.

Austin High's Special Collections

Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

LitFinder for Schools provides access to literary works and authors throughout history, including more than 150,000 full-text poems, short stories, speeches, and dramatic works. The database also includes biographies, work summaries, author images and a full glossary of literary terms.

As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more. NGVL brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research.

Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.

Spanish Language Database Resources

A comprehensive Spanish-language encyclopedia that includes over 100,000 articles, more than 9,000 images and maps, and nearly 1,000 videos, animations, sounds, and interactive media. It is designated for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and ESL/ELL program participants.

Informe Academico provides access to Spanish and Portuguese language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.

Encyclopedias provided by Encyclopedia Britannica in Spanish (2 levels), Japanese, Korean, Simplified Chinese and French.

Part of Spanish Reference Center, includes thousands of encyclopedia articles and images. In addition to encyclopedia content, the resource includes a dictionary, atlas, and timelines. Enciclopedia Moderna is an appropriate resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Encyclopedia and Reference Resources

Three different levels of encyclopedias (elementary, middle, and high school). Also includes some magazine articles, authorized web sites, interactive lesson plans and teacher resources.

In Progress

Pros and cons of over 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture, with primary sources, statistical tables, timelines, and editorial cartoons.

Curriculum-oriented database that offers a comprehensive, authoritative overview of the sciences. Diagrams, experiments, essays, definitions, and biographies are arranged by topic and contain thousands of hyperlinks and create thematic paths through the content. Only database with secondary math activities.

TODAY'S SCIENCE Science news, National Science Education Standards, Science Fair Guide, photographs, diagrams, editorial cartoons, pop-up glossary, biographies.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.